FINAL MINUTES STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD MEETING

WEDNESDAY, June 7, 2023

COMMUNITY COLLEGE WORKFORCE ALLIANCE 1651 EAST PARHAM ROAD, RICHMOND, VA 23228

Board Members Present:

Hope Cupit
James Guy II
Jay Holloway
David Hudgins
Russell Mait
Staci Rijal
Dr. Lornel Tompkins

Board Members Absent: None.

Department of Environmental Quality:

Michael S. Rolband, Director

Rachael Harrell, Board Coordinator

Attorney General's Office:

Ross Phillips, Deputy Attorney General

The meeting convened at 10:30 a.m. The Board went into closed session at 2:35 p.m. and ended closed session at 3:11 p.m. The meeting adjourned at 3:18 p.m.

<u>Minute No. 1 – Review and Approval of Agenda:</u> The Board unanimously approved the agenda.

<u>Minute No. 2– December 7, 2022 Minutes:</u> The Board unanimously approved the minutes from the Board's meeting on December 7, 2022.

<u>Minute No. 3- Report Regarding Controversial Permits:</u> Mr. Dowd informed the Board that there are currently no controversial permits to present to the Board.

Minute No. 4- Division Director Report: The Board received updates from Michael Dowd, Air and Renewable Energy Division Director. Mr. Dowd reported on the status of DEQ's permit by rule program for small solar energy projects and the agency's progress towards meeting the requirements set forth by House Bill 206 of the 2022 General Assembly.

Minute No. 5- Repeal CO 2 Budget Trading Program as required by Executive Order 9 (Revision A22) Part VII of 9VAC5-140: The Board heard a presentation from Secretary Voyles on the final regulatory proposal. The Board heard from the following individuals: Senator Hashmi, Delegate Sullivan, Brett Vassey, Keith Martin, Hobey Bauhan, Nate Benforado, Weston Gobar, William Stiles Jr., Petrina Jones-Wrobleski, Glen Besa, Tyla Matteson, Peter Anderson, Scott Peterson, Chris Leyen, Lee Williams, Patrick Fanning, Tim Cywinski, Phillip Ignatoff, Walton Shepherd, Steven Arabia, Perry Cogburn, Joy Loving, Dylan Bishop, Paige Wesselink, Randy Fleitman, Bill Muth, Beth Kreydatus, Donna Shaunesen, Emily Morrow, Gabriella Negron, Jessica Schneider, Tyee Mallory, and Richard Walker. The Board was presented with the Department's recommendation to authorize the Department to adopt the final regulation in accordance with the Administrative Process Act. The Board voted to 4 to 3 to accept the Department's recommendation, with Mr. Guy, Mr. Holloway, Mr. Hudgins, and Mr. Mait voting yes, and Ms. Rijal, Dr. Tompkins and Ms. Cupit voting no.

<u>Minute No. 6- Public Comment Forum:</u> The following individual spoke during the public comment forum: Portnoy Evans Johnson.